154

I held you when you were born

and every day thereafter.

I watched you come into this world

pulled silently from my womb.

So weak and small but so much heart

in such a tiny body.

We knew the days were numbered –

they always are –

but we didn’t know how many.

 

I held you when you were dying

and every second thereafter.

I watched as you left this world,

silently cradled in my arms,

so weak and small, a heart that failed

a tiny body.

We knew the days were numbered –

they always are –

but we didn’t know how many.

 

I hold nothing now

and every moment thereafter.

Hands that want to soothe

a tiny body are restless.

My soul reaches out for yours.

We knew the days were numbered –

they always are –

now we know how many.

Leave a Reply

