The bravest boy I ever knew.

frosty

James Julian Ashe left this world surrounded by the people that loved him most on January 2 at 1:12pm. He was being held by his mommy and daddy, and his uncles and grandparents were there to tell him goodbye. He was an incredibly brave and strong little boy. He was loved immeasurably, and his absence leaves behind a hole that can never be filled.

We will be having visitation today, January 3, at our house from 12p-8pm. It is informal. If James touched your life, or if you loved him, please come and say goodbye to him, and offer support to us.

Our address is Candler NC 28715.

The funeral will be Wednesday, January 4, at 4:52pm, the time that he was born.  It is also at our house, as we will be burying him at home.

7 thoughts on “The bravest boy I ever knew.

  1. Cat,
    I have been following and have been touched by your story. I have started to comment so many times, but the right words never seem to come. And even though I know I still don’t have the right words today, I just wanted to let you know that I am so deeply sorry for the loss of your beautiful little boy. I am sorry that you and your family have had to face heart-wrenching decision after heart-wrenching decision. But I know that for every second of James’s life, he was loved…he was comforted…he was important. I will remember him. My thoughts are with and have been with you and your family. Your willingness to share your story has been a gift.

    Like

  2. My deepest sympathy for your loss. I am so glad that you were able to hold baby James as he passed. You gave him so much love in his short life. He was a precious gift, and I learned from him, and from you. He did indeed touch my life. May God bless you and your family.

    Sue Sprott

    Like

  3. The Bravest indeed. Thank you for sharing James and his story with the world. Please know our whole community mourns with you.
    Lori Esteve
    SOBBS (Stories of Babies Born Still) founder
    USCCCI(United States Cuddle Cot Campaign Initiative) organizer

    Like

  4. I am so sorry to hear of sweet baby James’ passing. I, too, lost my little girl last year and I can relate to your feelings so much. You can tell from your posts how very loved he is, and always will be. It’s so common for moms of loss to blame themselves, but just know that you did every possible thing you could for your sweet baby. All he knew was love, which is something to be so proud of. I know that we don’t know each other, but from reading your posts, I feel like I know you. My heart is absolutely breaking for you, as I know the pain of losing a child. I wish I could do something to take your pain away or fix this for you, no one should ever have to bury their child. The pain is immeasurable, but so is your love and your bond. Just because he’s gone from the physical world, doesn’t mean that your bond is broken. He is forever yours and you are forever his.
    You are in my thoughts and prayers. Again, I’m so very sorry for your loss. He is absolutely beautiful! I’m so proud of the parents that he has and all of the love that he knows.

    Like

  5. I’ve been following your James since we were introduced to the Trisomy community shortly after our own girl’s diagnosis at the end of September. Thank you for allowing us to love James along with you. His photos always brought a smile to my face, and your gift of language has touched many hearts as you’ve shared your journey. I wept at each of your posts when he was in the hospital and especially upon learning that James is gone. I don’t even know you, and yet my heart aches with and for you. I still carry our Verity in my womb, but I’m facing my own fears as her due date creeps nearer and we have absolutely no idea what to expect, not really. My thoughts and prayers are with you…the time draws near for James to be laid to rest, and I pray extra measures of strength and peace for each of you today and in the days to come. Life will always be different…there’s no going back, no way of “unknowing” all that you have learned. May God draw you close and allow you to feel His presence and everlasting love amidst the sadness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

