My best friend

Wedding 5

My husband and I have been married for 17 years. We met when I was a freshman in high school, and he was a senior. After he graduated, I didn’t see him again for 3 years. One random Monday night, after working at my high school job, I went to Wal-Mart and ran into him there. We started talking, became friends, eventually started dating, and got married when I was 20. He’s been my best friend ever since.

When I think about what we are facing, I am so grateful for my partner, my best friend, my husband.

Getting married young can be hard. We married when I was 20. I had no idea who I was at that age, and no idea who I would become. I had a great deal of growing up to do. The person you are in your 20s frequently bears little resemblance to the person you become in your 30s. I imagine the same is true for your 40s.

I didn’t foresee going to medical school, becoming Dr Ashe, and being successful at my job. I didn’t foresee the 2 little girls that my life revolves around. I didn’t realize that my husband would have a PhD in mathematics – of all things (he was very much into art and history when we started dating). I didn’t foresee any of it – couldn’t have imagined this wonderful life that I have. At the time we got married, I was legally an adult, but I was really just a kid without the faintest knowledge of the world.

Vet school and Jim’s graduate school were very hard on our marriage. There were times that I didn’t know if it would survive. There were times that I was certain that it wouldn’t survive. I made mistakes that I wished I could take back. But there is no going back in time, there is only always moving relentlessly forward.

Sometimes I think our mistakes are what make our lives into what they are. If I hadn’t made the mistakes I made, would my life be what it is today? I know that I wouldn’t change anything that happened, because if I did, then everything would be different.

Jim has been there through all of it. Supporting me, loving me when I was not the most loveable, making sure that I followed my dream (veterinary school), forgiving me for my mistakes, and being the amazing father to our girls that he is.

I can’t be thankful enough for him. I couldn’t face this with anyone else.

Leave a Reply

